NIACC women place 2nd at Trent Smith Invitational

NIACC's Emma Davison runs to a 4th-place finish at the Trent Smith Invitational Friday.
NIACC's Emma Davison runs to a 4th-place finish at the Trent Smith Invitational Friday.

MASON CITY - For the second straight season, the NIACC women's cross country team placed second at the Trent Smith Invitational on Friday.

The No. 17 (NJCAA Division II) Lady Trojans compiled 58 points to earn their second-place finish at the second annual invite that honors the former NIACC all-American who died in a car accident in August of 2016.

Hawkeye CC was the women's team champion with 44 points and Buena Vista University was third with 84 points.

Freshman Emma Davison led the Lady Trojans with a fourth-place finish in a career-best time of 19 minutes, 32 seconds on the 5-kilomter course on the NIACC campus. Waldorf University's Marissa Kuik was the individual champion in a meet record time of 18:44.

Hawkeye CC's Joanna Topham, who was second Friday in 18:51, won the inaugural Trent Smith Invitational women's race in 2017 in 19:20.

Davison's time of 19:32 ranks sixth on the NIACC women's all-time best list. Davison's previous personal best waqs 19:40 at the Augustana Twilight meet on Aug. 31.

Other counting scores for the Lady Trojans were Julia Dunlavey (8th in 20:30), Ally Trager (18th in a personal-best time of 21:37), Alana Wickering (19th in personal best time of 21:42) and Cecelia Hemsworth (20th in 21:47).

Also for the Lady Trojans, Caitlyn Regan was 30th in 22:39, Miricle Corbo was 33rd in 23:05, Ivy Rollene was 34th in 23:07 and Aubrea Thompson was 40th in 24:50.

NIACC returns to action Oct. 26 in the NJCAA Region XI meet in Davenport.

Team standings - Hawkeye CC 44, NIACC 58, Buena Vista 84, Grand View 89, Waldorf 90, Southwestern 140.

Top 10 Trent Smith Invitational men's times (8K)

Brian Jacques (NIACC) 25:17 (2017)

Brian Kitur (Unattached) 25:47 (2017)

Wal Khat (NIACC alumni) 25:47 (2017)

Blake Keller (NIACC) 26:05 (2017)

Dennis Kibowen (Iowa Western) 26:28 (2017)

Drake Henrichs (Unattached) 26:40 (2017)

Abdiaziz Wako (NIACC) 26:41 (2018)

Nic Ganzeveld (Waldorf) 26:45 (2017)

Peter Torkelson (Hawkeye CC) 26:51 (2018)

David Thompson (Hawkeye CC) 26:57 (2018)

Top 10 Trent Smith Invitational women's times 5K

Marissa Kuik (Waldorf) 18:44 (2018)

Joanna Topham (Hawkeye CC) 18:51 (2018)

Joanna Topham (Hawkeye CC) 19:20 (2017)

Alayna Kollasch (unattached) 19:28 (2018)

Marissa Kuik (Waldorf) 19:32 (2017)

Emma Davison (NIACC) 19:32 (2018)

Madison Larsen (Hawkeye CC) 19:34 (2018)

Anytcy Marin (Grand View) 19:44 (2018)

Olivia Russo (Iowa Western) 20:09 (2017)

Marissa Widener (Waldorf) 20:10 (2018)